Easy Gluten Free Quinoa Pizza Crust

Easy Gluten Free Quinoa Pizza Crust

Hello, hello! Happy 2013! As with every year, I hope this is the one that I really devote myself to maintaining this blog… I suppose time will tell. I’m inspired to share my dinner with you all tonight since I could not find a recipe like this when I tried searching for it, and because it came out pretty darn tasty!

Tonight a pizza craving struck… if you read this blog, you’ll know that’s nothing new for me. I had some leftover pizza supplies kicking around my fridge, but not quite enough to cover the dough mix I had in my cupboard. Wanting to eat something healthy, I figured I’d try to incorporate quinoa! A quick Pinterest search wasn’t giving me the kind of crust I had in mind, so I decided to take a leap of faith and make up my own.

I wanted quinoa to be the true base of this pizza, so I kept it as simple as possible. Enjoy!

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 cup water or chicken broth
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free baking mix (I used Bob’s Red Mills – you could also easily substitute regular flour if you’re not gluten-free)
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper

Directions:

Begin by cooking the quinoa. Combine rinsed quinoa, water or broth and and garlic in a pot and bringing to a boil. Once it hits a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and let simmer for about 10 minutes. While quinoa is simmering, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Move cooked quinoa to a mixing bowl. Add egg and olive oil, mixing well. Add in half cup of baking mix or flour slowly, mixing into the quinoa. The mix should be sticky but not too dry, like a cookie mix – if you add too much flour, add a bit of water to soften the mixture again. Add a pinch of salt and pepper as desired.

Easy Gluten Free Quinoa Pizza Crust

Grease a baking sheet (I used olive oil) and spread dough. The dough is sticky so I used a piece of saran wrap to keep my hands clean. The dough will not rise, so take this into account when shaping your pizza. I raised a little crust around the edge of mine, but a thin crust works best wit the quinoa flavor. Bake without toppings for 5 minutes, remove and flip the crust, baking the other side for 5 minutes. Add your toppings (I put tomato sauce, cheese, mushrooms, onions and spinach!) and bake until they are cooked through, about 10 minutes.

And… yum! You’ve got yourself a simple, easy and tasty quinoa pizza crust. I thought mine was delicious, though I got a stronger taste of the quinoa’s nutty flavor where I created a raised crust. Most of the pizza, however, I couldn’t really taste a difference between any other pizza.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Easy Gluten Free Quinoa Pizza Crust

  1. I just don’t get it how these people go overboard with these crazy pizza recipes. I aimed for “as-close-to-Old-World-Italian and got it!!!! Just sent this so you would have more understanding of what is rampant in the pizza crust industry — and as recommendations for home pizza making.

Leave a Reply

