Gluten Free Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Gluten Free Sweet Potato Hash Browns

PEOPLE! I have found a reason to never go out to brunch again – and I love brunch. However, no restaurant is ever going to have the delicious, incredible masterpiece of amazing gluten-free sweet potato hash browns I made today. And I don’t want to give them up!

I woke up this morning with a hankering for sweet potato hash browns. Where this came from, I do not know. Since I slept through my brunch plans (whoops!), I decided that they would become today’s undertaking. I checked out some recipes on Pinterest (here and here) to see how difficult they would be to make and they seemed super easy. Noting the lack of garlic and diced onions in the recipes I found (and the addition of Greek yogurt?), I decided I would make up my own recipe (shocker).

They’re super easy to make, and super delicious. Here’s what you need:

  • 1 sweet potato, grated
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tbsp gluten-free flour (to bind the ingredients – I used Bob’s Red Mill Biscuit and Baking Mix so I wouldn’t need any xantham gum)
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped onion
  • 2 tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese
  • salt (to your preference. I used French Fry Seasoning instead!)
  • pepper (to your preference)
  • olive oil

Gluten Free Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Grate your sweet potatoes, and use a paper towel to dry them (if you are fancy, use cheesecloth like here). Preheat a skillet (I used a wok) using medium heat. In a bowl, combine sweet potatoes, garlic, flour, onion, cheese, salt and pepper. The mixture should stick together pretty well. Add olive oil to the skillet, about 1 tsp per hash brown. Ball the sweet potato mixture into 1 tbsp size, then press to flatten into a pancake shape on the skillet. Lower to medium-low heat, and make sure that each pancake is coated in olive oil. Let the cakes brown and crisp before flipping to brown the other side. Once they have browned, plate and serve!

Gluten Free Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Some notes and observations:

  • They take a little while to cook. They took far longer than I thought. They are best cooked over medium-low, when I cranked the heat due to my hunger, they burned faster than the sweet potato softened. Give them time.
  • DON’T use too much olive oil. They definitely need it to crisp correctly, but on my second batch I used more thinking it would help them crisp even better, but they were definitely a bit soggy. A teaspoon per hash brown should be a good ratio.
  • These are best enjoyed with an egg white veggie omlette and a grapefruit mimosa (because we had no orange juice, and I was feeling bad ass today).
  • I could definitely see myself getting fancy and adding to these – maybe some chopped cilantro, perhaps some chopped spinach too? Peppers would be delicious also. The possibilities are endless!

It made for a fabulous Sunday meal on a fabulous cloudy, lazy Sunday. It gave me just the fuel I needed to bake some gluten-free cookies and do the errands and chores and catching up with old friends I’d been neglecting in the busy hectic-ness of summertime! You have to try these – they are so delicious! If you do, definitely let me know in the comments if you loved them as much as I did!

PS – I wrote this while munching on some gluten-free chocolate chip cookies. I am including a picture below so you start drooling.

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Sweet Potato Hash Browns

  1. I live in the sweet potato capitol of the world….the Central Valley of California….and even still, I can’t get enough sweet potatoes. This recipe sound divine.

Leave a Reply

